top of page

Stand Up for the Cross

Today as I prepared myself for a job interview, I couldn't decide whether to wear my hair up or down. I looked to the internet for advice and found plenty of sites talking about what clothes to wear, what hair styles to choose (up, by the way), what nail polish and shoes were best, and what jewlery to wear. I had already picked out a great outfit, now decided to wear my hair up, and was planning to wear my favorite necklace - a silver cross. As I read the online advice on what to wear it was recommended not to wear "religious jewelry" because it could offend the interviewer. This made me really think about my responsibiity as a Christian.

Stand up for me against world opinion and I'll stand up for you before my Father in heaven. If you turn tail and run, do you think I'll cover for you? (Mathew 10:32-33, MSG)

Therefore whoever confesses Me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven. But whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven. (Mathew 10:32-33, NKJV)

The passage in Mathew immediately came to mind and my thoughts were clear. I am going to wear my cross, if it offends the person that is interviewing me then I probably don't want to work for them anyway. There is nothing to hide or deny, I am proud that I am the daughter of the one true King!


recent Posts
bottom of page