top of page

Knee Time

We live in such a world of... well, focus on self and the world. Most have heard the phrase "me time." What does that mean?


The dictionary definition says the time a person has to himself or herself, in which to do something for his or her own enjoyment. In other words, a selfish time of joy. Is this bad? No necessarily as long as it doesn't replace time spent with God. It can be so easy to "fit" God in - during my drive, quick before I eat, while trying to fall asleep. I mean, the Bible says I can pray to God anywhere and anytime.


Well, what about knee time? Time spent in complete focus on God, doing something for His enjoyment? Kneeling in surrender is like a signal to your entire body that you are completely focused on God. Kneeling shows gratitude, honor and humility.


Pope Benedict XVI said in his theology of kneeling,

In the Hebrew of the Old Testament, the verb barak, “to kneel”, is cognate with the word berek, “knee”. The Hebrews regarded the knees as a symbol of strength, to bend the knee is, therefore, to bend our strength before the living God, an acknowledgment of the fact that all that we are we receive from Him. In important passages of the Old Testament, this gesture appears as an expression of worship.

There are also several references to k relying on prayer throughout the Bible.


“Now he had made a bronze platform, five cubits long, five cubits wide and three cubits high, and had placed it in the center of the outer court. He stood on the platform and then knelt down before the whole assembly of Israel and spread out his hands toward heaven.” 2 Chronicles‬ ‭6‬:‭13‬ ‭NIV‬‬


““Get on your knees and pray that I will be gracious to you. You priests have gotten everyone in trouble. With this kind of conduct, do you think I’ll pay attention to you?” God-of-the-Angel-Armies asks you.” Malachi‬ ‭1‬:‭9‬ ‭MSG‬‬


“Then, at the evening sacrifice, I rose from my self-abasement, with my tunic and cloak torn, and fell on my knees with my hands spread out to the Lord my God” Ezra‬ ‭9‬:‭5‬ ‭NIV‬‬


“So come, let us worship: bow before him, on your knees before God, who made us! Oh yes, he’s our God, and we’re the people he pastures, the flock he feeds. Drop everything and listen, listen as he speaks.

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭95‬:‭6‬-‭7‬ ‭MSG‬‬


So take the time for some knee time. Time spent with the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Create a space to surrender and focus. In humility reach out to He that loves you. Have some knee time.






recent Posts

God Girls Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page