top of page

When God Says "Flee", Don't Hesitate

I belong to a great group of Christians on Facebook that pray for each other and talk about God's word. Today, I was inspired by a post from Tisha Jewell and the Holy Spirit guided me in this message.

Remember as a child when you would be at the pool with your friends or cousins and standing on the edge working your way to jumping in the cool water? Inevitably, someone would push you in with no warning and you were forced to deal with the water, whatever temperature. I think there are times when we force God's hand because we hesitate, or don't take the step he has been placing on our heart because we are wrapped up in this world, resulting in a push.

I have experienced those times myself. I think I know best, I don't listen, I ignore the signs, I tune out his voice ... I try to do it my way. We all do. God loves us, so he tries to gently nudge us back on course and when we don't respond... PUSH. Then we look to heaven and say we are sorry and acknowledge it would have been easier responding to the nudges. Of course hind sight is 20-20 and typically we don't even recognize the nudges were there until after the push has already occured. Now we are cold, wet, tired and looking for warmth and safety; so, we fix our eyes back where they should have been.

Of course, the entire thing may have been avoided if we hadn't hesitated. Yes, sometimes the water looks cold, scary, or like too much of the unknown. Trust Him, He ALWAYS has your best interest in mind. When he says step, jump, flee ..... don't hesitate.

2 Timothy 2:22-23

(MSG) Run from infantile indulgence. Run after mature righteousness - faith, love, peace - joining those who are in honest and serious prayer before God. Refuse to get involved in inane discussions, they always end up in fights.

(NKJV) Flee also youthful lusts; but pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart. But avoid foolish and ignorant disputes, knowing they generate strife.


recent Posts
bottom of page