top of page

Keeping Joy

Joy, ever tried to define it without actually using the word "joy"?

Simcha (Hebrew: שִׂמְחָה‎ śimḥāʰ; Hebrew pronunciation: [simˈχa], Yiddish pronunciation: [ˈsɪmχə]) is a Hebrew word with several meanings. Literally, the word "simcha" means, "joy" and is defined as joy, mirth, gladness; the joy of God.

Chara is Greek noun which describes a feeling of inner gladness, delight or rejoicing. Joy is a feeling of inner gladness, delight or rejoicing. Joy is not an experience that comes from favorable circumstances but is God’s gift to believers. Joy is a part of God’s very essence and as discussed below His Spirit manifests this supernatural joy in His children (Galatians 5:22-note, Acts 13:52, 1Th 1:6-note). Joy is the deep-down sense of well-being that abides in the heart of the person who knows all is well between himself and the Lord.

Another Hebrew definition is "the blessedness that the Lord enjoys around the throne of God himself". Joy is the atmosphere of heaven. Joy is in the air God the Father Himself breathes in every day of eternity. And because joy is a gift to me while I walk on planet earth, it is my delight and strength to experience the blessedness that God on his throne enjoys. ~Carol Burton McLeod

That is a place I desire to be, a feeling I want to keep at all times.. JOY. But how do we keep Joy when we are in a season of struggle, of pain, and of weariness? First we must remember who the true enemy is, not flesh and blood but a spiritual enemy who is targeting your Joy. He desires to keep a foothold on you in a season of pain, to keep you discouraged, and to ruin your life here on earth. We must remember that God's joy is stronger. Only God can take the season of struggle, pain, defeat, and disappointment and turn it into something good. In His presence the pain is the seed of a future miracle. Use the pain for good.

It is ok to talk to God about it, to let him know that you don't understand why you must go through this, pray to him to reveal the answers and give you peace and understanding. God never had a wicked intent, his goal is never not for your good. I know the season is difficult, I am in a season of loss, betrayal, and defeat right now, so this message is as much for me as it is for anyone reading this. I do not know why this has happened or what is planned next. I do know that it is ok to wrestle with it, to pray about it, and to talk to my friend Jesus. I also know it is not ok to allow the enemy to whisper negative thoughts or keep me pushed down.

The enemy targets your Joy, That is a simple play to get you in his clutches and pull you away from your protector, our God, almighty.

Hebrews 11:1-2 (MSG) The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, is the firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living. It's our handle on what we can't see. The act of faith is what distinguished our ancestors, set them above the crowd.

John 14:27 (NIV) Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let you hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Romans 8:28 (NIV) And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.


recent Posts
bottom of page