top of page

Peace in Forgiveness

The power and grace of God still amazes me on a regular basis. We read it, we know it, we believe it but it is still beautiful and astonishing when we see it. So, without all the ugly detail, I had a sad and life changing situation happen about 4-years ago. One of those rock your foundation situations. A group of people I thought supported me turned their back on me - or at least that was my perspective at the time. I was sad and bitter and even a little lost after it happened. Then I moved forward and moved on. It actually took about a year before I fully had forgiveness and let the past totally go. We all do the best we can with what we know and we all make mistakes, nothing to look back on. Honestly, I never gave it another thought.

Then today I had a conversation with someone who was part of that situation and he apologized to me. He was humble and gracious and reached out to me. This is someone I never thought I would speak to again - EVER. I didn't need the apology, I had forgiven the situation a long time ago, but there was such a relief and peace in the conversation. It was apparent to me that it was the work of God. He anointed a lovely conversation that filled me with joy. I don't know if I will talk to this person again or cross paths in the future; it was a beautiful moment of peace in the forgiveness I freely gave years ago, even though this person never knew it. I was able to give him peace that I had no bitterness or anger toward him or anyone else involved, that I had grown as God needed me to and all was well.

Failing to forgive doesn't put bitterness in anyone's heart but yours. Forgive and give grace freely as our savior did us and have peace within your heart. It doesn't matter if the person knows you forgave them directly - sometimes that is not an option - but God knows.

Colossians 3:13 NIV

Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Ephesians 4:31-32 NIV

Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.


recent Posts
bottom of page