top of page

Hills and Valleys

My heart overflows when I look back on the past 5 years. I was a not an all-in Christian. Yes, I was proclaiming to be Christian, but I didn't get regularly fed by a bible-believing church, my bible reading was occasional, and I did not have the relationship with Jesus that I have today. I hit a low point in 2013 - I lost my job, severely twisted my ankle, and my daughter walked away from her family - to name a few things. I look back now and I realize I did not have the strength of Jesus to get me through. I was beaten down, depressed, and not sure what was going to happen next.

So, rewind another year. We move to a new city and end up with these terrific neighbors who relentlessly and annoyingly ask us to come try their church. We give in, my husband and I go and it took just one visit - the sermon hadn't even started, it was just the worship and I broke down, overwhelmed, in tears. I felt the presence of God like a warm, loving, hug. This was exactly where I needed to be. I joined small groups, started volunteering, began the journey of a full bible read, and began changing my life.

So, fast forward to now. No, all things are not perfect - I still struggle with worry and doubt but when I fix my eyes I can let it go. I can proclaim that I am leaving it at the cross and that I need God for my refuge and strength. I now lead small groups, I am a leader in the church, I can speak about the word to others and this year I went on a mission trip - to name a few things. There are more stories than I can place in one post! God has showed up - even when it was hard, even when he was stretching me, refining me, and teaching me.

There are people that think life gets so easy, you just get blessed as a Christian and no longer struggle - TRUTH, it gets harder in some ways, you just painted a target for the enemy. The difference is, I know his game and I know the voice of my father. I have the strength to know God has me in his arms and as long as I listen He will care for me.

My mottos:

My God is bigger than your mountain!

Let go and let God!

Just a little truth and little insight into me this post....


recent Posts
bottom of page