top of page

Fuel The Lighthouse

Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!

(Psalm 43:3 ESV)

The purpose of a lighthouse is to be a beacon, both a warning away from danger as well as a navigational aid. When I picture a lighthouse, I picture the large beacon of light, directing people. I oftentimes think of the church as a lighthouse for our God, a beacon of hope navigating others to the Lord and also a warning to stay away from the dangerous enemy that lurks to kill, steal, and destroy. Mathew tells us to "...let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven." (5:16, NIV)

A lighthouse needs power in order to operate. Originally they were powered by the burning of wood or coal, then oil, then kerosene, but most today run on electricity. Regardless of how it gets power, the light won't work without power and maintenance. In the same way, the church cannot keep it's light powered without power and maintenance. You, as a Christian, are called to be that fuel, both through tithing and through serving. Tithing is the 10% of your income you give to your local church and serving is the time, gifts, and work you give to your church. I have joked that my church is a place I pay for the privilege to work there.

If you truly want to go out and make disciples, bring others to Christ, then you have to fuel that lighthouse ... fuel your local church. I have heard people say that they worry what the church will do with the money - well, I have two answers for that:

1. Tithing is between you and God and not you and the church.

2. What the church does with the money is between the Pastor, church board, or whomever is making financial decisions and God, not you.

So, trust God and He will bless you for fueling his lighthouse.

Bodie Island Lighthouse, Outer Banks, NC

October 2018


recent Posts
bottom of page