top of page

Why Serve?

I get this question from time to time. I will talk about how my family works/serves weekends at our church, or things we are doing with the church, and people will say WHY? Or even better, they will ask, does the church pay you?

Why? Because it brings my heart joy to do for others. Even my paying job is taking care of others. Why? Because the Bible instructs us to:

You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. (Galatians 5:13 NIV)

Anyone who wants to serve me must follow me, because my servants must be where I am. And the Father will honor anyone who serves me. (John 12:26 NLT)

God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another. (1 Peter 4:10 NIV)

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as though you were working for the Lord and not for people. Remember that the Lord will give you as a reward what he has kept for his people. For Christ is the real Master you serve. (Colossians 3:23-24)

So then, my friends, because of God’s great mercy to us I appeal to you: Offer yourselves as a living sacrifice to God, dedicated to his service and pleasing to him. This is the true worship that you should offer. (Romans 12:1)

Let love be without hypocrisy. Abhor what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor; not lagging behind in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord; rejoicing in hope, persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer, contributing to the needs of the saints, practicing hospitality. (Romans 12:9-13 NIV)

And as to the question do I get paid... no not monetarily, but I get paid spiritually. I see hope and healing in others and I am paid with joy. I build relationships and friendships and I am paid with love. I build a network of believers and I am paid with support. I see others come to be saved in Christ and I am paid with blessings. I am honoring my God and I am paid with His favor.

(Deuteronomy 4:39-40 NIV) Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the LORD is God in heaven above and on the earth below. There is no other. Keep his decrees and commands, which I am giving you today, so that it may go well with you and your children after you and that you may live long in the land the LORD your God gives you for all time.

(Proverbs 3:1-6 NIV) My son, do not forget my teaching, but keep my commands in your heart, for they will prolong your life many years and bring you prosperity. Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart. hen you will win favor and a good name in the sight of God and man. rust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.


recent Posts
bottom of page