top of page

Broken Heart

Takotsubo cardiomyopathy or "Broken Heart Syndrome" is when the heart muscle becomes suddenly stunned or weakened. It mostly occurs following severe emotional or physical stress. The condition is temporary and most people recover within two months.


So, yes, you can actually break your heart. I was thinking about this… what about Jesus on the cross. Even before he went to the cross he knew what was coming, the human side of him pleaded not to have to go through it.


“And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.”

‭‭Luke‬ ‭22:44‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Emotional stress right there, I would argue his heartbreak started right there. According to physicians who have studied the Bible and looked at arguments of its truth: Though very rare, the phenomenon of hematidrosis, or bloody sweat, is well documented. Under great emotional stress, tiny capillaries in the sweat glands can break, thus mixing blood with sweat. This process alone could have produced marked weakness and possible shock.


Jesus was then whipped, beaten, dehydrate, and mocked while being held for trial. After they decided to crucify him He could barely walk, let alone carry the cross. The rough wood of the beam gouged into the lacerated skin and muscles of the shoulders. He tried to rise, but human muscles had been pushed beyond their endurance. Psalms then prophesies what happens next:


“I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint. My heart has turned to wax; it has melted within me. My mouth is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth; you lay me in the dust of death. Dogs surround me, a pack of villains encircles me; they pierce my hands and my feet. All my bones are on display; people stare and gloat over me. They divide my clothes among them and cast lots for my garment.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭22:14-18‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Medically, he would have felt all his muscles tearing and his chest compressing so he could barely breathe. He would have felt his heart break. Unlike the medical phenomenon today, He was physically tortured and unable to recover. But God, He rose again - He took the keys from hell, overcame death, and continues to love us!



Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page