top of page

Closed Doors

I don’t know about you, but I find it easy to pray over God opening doors, guiding paths, showing me the way. These are all positive requests. Not so easy is talking to Him about closing doors, blocking the path, or pushing me out of a situation.

He closes doors that are a way that is not good for us. He closes doors of things that hold us back from His great plan for us. He closes doors that lead to sin, that could harm us, or when He needs to separate us from something or someone. Though I don’t directly pray for doors to close my prayers for guidance usually prompt this. God may close a door to make me give up things, or to end a bad relationship, there have even been times in my life when He tried to close the door and I propped it open until He shoved me out the door to close it.


One example of this was a friendship that turned sour when I really started to not just know Jesus but entered a relationship with Him. My friend told others she was waiting for me to get out of this “Jesus phase”. Well, long story short- I haven’t spoken to her in a very long time. Another example was a job with a bad company and a bad boss - I was stressed out and miserable- determined to make it work. Well let’s just say that was a shove out to close that door. I didn’t even realize the depth of my mistreatment and misery until I was out of it. I have many more stories that, at the time, caused some pain and confusion - but in time as God revealed the better plan, became so much more a blessing.


I am so thankful that my Heavenly Father doesn’t give up on me in my stubbornness. I am thankful he closes doors and leads me to, well, a better me.




Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page