top of page

Frustration

There is are moments in John 8 when I can actually hear the frustration in Jesus voice as I read the scripture. Jesus is trying to explain to who He is as the Jews dispute over it. He has already told them so much to have them see He was sent by the Father God. But they keep asking more questions that reveal they still do not understand.

““Who are you?” they asked. “Just what I have been telling you from the beginning,” Jesus replied.”

‭‭John‬ ‭8:25‬ ‭NIV‬‬


I can almost hear His voice and imagine that in his head Jesus thinks… have you not listened to a word I have said? Ever experience that in your life, you explain something well and repeatedly and someone looks at you with… “wait, what?”…as if you never discussed it before. The frustration that arises in you because you know they heard you, but they didn’t listen.


At that point Jesus figures he will try another approach - perhaps starting with something the Jews already understood and accepted - the story of Abraham. Unfortunately, the Jews still aren’t getting it; instead, they protest what Jesus is telling them.


“Why is my language not clear to you? Because you are unable to hear what I say.”

‭‭John‬ ‭8:43‬ ‭NIV‬‬


I hear that frustration again, the Jews still aren’t listening. I have had that moment when (for a second) I wonder if I am

not speaking English. I am

baffled by how what I just said could not have been clear. I imagine Jesus is

having that moment here in the

story.

So Jesus next move is to convince them

that he speaks the truth. Jesus appeals to their sense of reason, to look at his life as proof so they will believe.


““Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me?”

‭‭John‬ ‭8:46‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Jesus then makes one final argument, tries to appeal to their belief in “I am” their belief in the one true God.


““Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.”

‭‭John‬ ‭8:58-59‬ ‭NIV‬‬


In the end, Jesus is unsuccessful and I imagine quite frustrated… for his safety he slips away, not another word.


Now let me be clear, Jesus did walk away from that moment because he was obviously not getting through; but He never gave up. He would try again, and again as He does today to have the truth set them free.





Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page