top of page

Not ready yet

You may want more now. You may say “God! I can do more! I’m better than this!” The truth is you may not be ready for that place or that place may not even be ready for you yet.


Read that in a devotional on Bold Leadership. Got me thinking about how sometimes we want to rush to the top when there’s a journey in the climb. God is not going to open the door until you are strong enough to open it and the other side is ready for you.


I started thinking about when I was a kid and we would go on road trips and everybody knows the adage - mom are we there yet? And we would of course be told by our parent - no we’re not there yet please be patient it’s gonna be great when we get there. As little kids we had a hard time believing this through the doldrums of the car drive; however, as we mature we understand that at the end of the journey is the reward.


The bible tells us that even as we are learning in our spiritual walk, we must mature to understand.


“Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.”

‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭5:13-14‬ ‭NIV‬‬


“Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.”

‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭2:2-3‬ ‭NIV‬‬


As I thought more on this topic I think I’ve always understood that I need to be ready for where God is leading me. However, what struck me in this particular devotional was that the destination also has to be prepared for me, has to be ready for me to come. Think about it, there are others where I am going, who may not be prepared yet for me to come. Not prepared for me to tell them the good news, to lead them to salvation, to influence them on their walk back to God. It made me realize that it’s not just about my walk at maturity but it’s also the walk of who’s on the other end of my current journey. So even though I may cry out- God I’m ready for more, what God has planned it’s not quite set up yet, the destination is not ready for me.


So, I will trust God and his journey and the growth of not just me but everyone else along the path to the next destination. I will trust whatever God gives me big or small has a bigger kingdom purpose and I pray never to lose sight of that.




Comentarios


recent Posts
bottom of page