top of page

One of those people

Had an interesting encounter last week at work. A group of people were talking about the big pot of money in the lottery and the fantasy talk began: what would you do if you won millions of dollars. People chimed in with purchases and trips and then eyes looked at me.


My answer was quick and without hesitation: First, I would tithe to my church. The room fell quiet and the man who started the fantasy talk looked at me and said: "Your a tither, one of those people." Maybe I should have been offended, or felt judged, but instead I swelled with a sense of joy and simply responded: "Yes I am."


I am one of those people...

-Those people who walk by faith and not by sight

-Those people who talk to God everyday like my best friend

-Those people who read the word and find wisdom and comodest

-Those people that believe there is power in prayer and answers in the Bible

-Those people who have given it all to the Lord.


In the words of Casting Crowns:


'Cause I'm just a nobody, Trying to tell everybody, All about Somebody, Who saved my soul.


The response was a quip to my answer but I planted a seed. “Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.” (James‬ ‭3‬:‭18‬ ‭NIV‬‬). Maybe those in the room will think about "those people" which will soften their heart to think about "that person" which will lead them to Jesus.



Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page