top of page

Pay It Forward

Ever heard the phrase? Basically, it it is an expression for describing the beneficiary of a good deed repaying the kindness to others instead of to the original person who was kind to them. I got to thinking today, as I was listening to music on my radio and singing about how Jesus forgave all of our sins when he died on the cross for us. I thought about this and I realized he paid for my sins before I was even born. Jesus paid it forward. What a concept.


When life makes us feel discouraged, marginalized and insignificant, the cross is our source of comfort.The cross declares that our lives matter to God and reminds us that Jesus loved us enough to die for us. He wants us to live in hope and peace with Him - forever.


Working in healthcare, I see people from all walks of life with all kinds of problems - mental, physical, social. It is easy to judge how they got into their situation, especially if an addiction or failure to care for ones self is in the picture. But God … it is not ours to judge - instead it is our place to

give compassion and grace, even when it is not reciprocated. That can be a hard pill to swallow considering the abuse many healthcare workers receive from hurting, guilty, and grief-stricken patients and families. As I was thinking on all this, I circled right back… pay it forward. Jesus died for me so I can pass on His hope and peace to others.

Unfortunately, some people we encounter may not even know Jesus. So remember, I have been healed and He is ready to heal others. He already paid it forward….. have you?




Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page