top of page

Prickly Christian

Get it out of your head. The word Christian is not synonymous with perfect. We make mistakes, we fall down, we doubt… but God - His grace, His strength, His love for me. I have to remind myself that it’s ok to get mad, to cry, and even to question- as long as I go back to Him with my worries and doubts. He is there to hold me up when I am too tired to go further, when my heart is broken, when I feel alone. My God is ALWAYS there for me.


Knowing this, we as Christians need to give others space too - space to make mistakes, to doubt, AND space to be loved. Christians should not be prickly, rigid, or judgmental. Love the sinner hate the sin.


We need to love people, not condone non-biblical behavior or conform to the world, but still acts of faith in love. It hurts when I see Christians act persecutory or just plain prickly and mean. We can teach and lead without being mean or condescending. That attitude shuts people down and they will put up walls to hearing the good news. We all make mistakes, we all were born with the sin of Adam in our hearts. The flesh is weak and the enemy is prowling.

You are not perfect, I am not perfect, so don’t be a prickly Christian.


“Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.”

‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:8-9‬ ‭NIV‬‬




Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page