top of page

The Idol of Happiness

I heard someone say recently that they were making some drastic changes in their life because they just weren’t happy. Their spouse didn’t make them happy anymore, their job didn’t, and neither did their church. So they walked away from all of it.

Do not make the mistake of putting happiness and joy in the same category. Happiness is an idol, have you ever said “I’ll be happy when…

I get that promotion

I buy that house

I make more money

I find the right person

I get a new car

I change jobs

ect…


Joy is so much deeper than happiness. Joy is letting Jesus deep into your heart and giving you peace always.


“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”

‭‭James‬ ‭1:2-3‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Unfortunately in today’s instant gratification and everyone gets a trophy society we have made happiness an idol. Ever heard “It didn’t make me happy so …

I broke up with him/her

I quit that job

I stopped talking to them

I stopped trying

ect…


We rely on other people and things to make us happy. We don’t want to put effort into anything and we blame the world for the unhappines. Where is the joy?


Joy carries us through trials, anger, grief, and moments of unhappiness without giving up, quitting, or losing hope.


“For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭30:5‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Do not let the pursuit of happiness steal your joy. Joy is in your heart and is new every morning. Stop chasing happiness, pursuing the idol. Happiness is a false hope, joy in the Lord and with the Lord is your peace.


“The prospect of the righteous is joy, but the hopes of the wicked come to nothing.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭10:28‬ ‭NIV‬‬


“I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure,”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭16:8-9‬ ‭NIV‬‬


“I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.”

‭‭John‬ ‭15:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I could go on… so many great verses about joy - in trials and sufferings, for strength, availability to those who love Him. This is truly being happy, the pure joy in the love of the Lord.


I challenge you today, stop chasing happiness - end the hold of that idol in your life and focus on your JOY.





Comments


recent Posts
bottom of page